Back to Attractions

Trinity Church is part of the Episcopal Diocese of New York located on 79 Broadway in lower Manhattan. The church has a long history, starting with its charter from King William, III in 1697, and its land purchase by the Church of England in 1969. Queen Anne helped to increase the landholdings of the church and in 1709 William Huddleston founded Trinity School as a Charity School held in the Church.

During the American Revolutionary War, some of the parishioners were members of the First and Second Continental Congress. The original church burned in 1776 during the Great New York City Fire. It was rebuilt and torn down two more times until the current building which was finished in 1846. In 1976, it was designated a National Historic Landmark.

There are three burial grounds around the church, where visitors can go, where such notable personalities as Alexander Hamilton, Captain James Lawrence, William Bradford, Alfred Tennyson Dickens, and John James Audubon lie in rest. There are 23 large bells that ring every day before and after 11:15 am.

There is also a bronze sculpture, which was created from the tree roots of an ancient sycamore tree that stood next to the church. It fell during the September 11th attacks, as the church was serving as a refuge for survivors. Sculptor Steve Tobin used the roots as the base for the bronze sculpture, as a memorial for 9/11.

Services are held daily and there is a regular calendar of musical events.